Attack of the Acne

I’m having a bit of a battle with my acne today, well I guess it’s more of a war really. 

I have very temperamental skin and it likes to surprise me with some big, painful, red bumps that I simply cannot resist picking (yes I know you shouldn’t squeeze, but I just can’t stop!).

So I’ve been told my acne is hormonal, I’ve been doing the 3-step routine since I was 16 and 10 years on my skin is worse than ever. I thought getting older was supposed to clear up your skin?! 

Knowing its hormonal doesn’t make it any better, I am just on an endless quest to find the right products and routine to help. 

I’m a big fan of beauty/skincare blogs but often the people writing them have beautiful skin already! Not to mention a much larger skincare budget. 

I on the other hand have a lot of spots and tight purse strings. 

In my spot fighting kit tonight is…

  1. Neutrogina 2 in 1 Wash and Mask (£3.69 in boots)
  2. Paula’s Choice Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid (mine is a tester size that came in my Birchbox but it’s available for £23.50 for 118ml https://www.birchbox.co.uk/shop/paulas-choice-skin-perfecting-liquid-exfoliant)
  3. La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo (£15.50 at boots)

    
I’ve read good things about the Neutrogina  mask (from amodelrecommends) and I wasn’t disappointed. The mask was clay based, which I need to help slow down my oil production, but it didn’t go really hard and didn’t feel too drying. It’s not the sort of product i’d use to wash my face however and I wouldn’t use it too often.
The Paula’s Choice BHA liquid sounds like it should pack a punch and I’m hoping it will but I couldn’t use this product everyday. It’s quite strong and I think it would irritate my spots and my skin. Definitely seems good for exfoliating a couple of times a week though.

Finally, the Effaclar Duo. I’ve heard mixed reviews about this product but more than anything, I’ve notice that it seems to be the most talked about spot fighting product for adults. Therefore I thought it was about time I gave it a go.

It smelt nice and applied easily but I can’t tell whether it has worked yet. It has pretty impressive claims, saying it will reduce the size of spots in 8 hours etc so I guess I will have to wait and see.

Apologies in advance for the close up of my spots, going to try and be the guinea pig on this one and see what the difference is after a few days of using Effaclar Duo.

Happy cleansing all.

A spotty woman 

 

 

  
  

5 thoughts on “Attack of the Acne

Leave a Reply

